NM Law Enforcement Records Bureau

Location & Hours

NM Dept of Public Safety Headquarters
4491 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87507
Office Hours: M – F / 7:30 AM to 5 PM*
Fingerprint Hours: M – F / 8 AM to 4PM*
(*including the lunch hour)

Law Enforcement Records Bureau Fees

 


Manual Fingerprint Services: $9 / first two cards, and $2.50 for each additional card (at DPS Only)
Fingerprinting Locations: www.cogentid.com
State background check fee is $15
Letter of Good Standing: $18
Police Certificate: $18
Accident Reports are $10 (https://ecrash.lexisnexis.com/)
Incident Reports: $1 for the first page; and $.25 for each additional page
Notary Services: $5
Payment Methods: cash, check, money orders and credit/debit cards

Accident Reports

 

For NMSP and MTPD accident reports.
Accident Reports are $10 each and are available:
     Online reports, please go to https://ecrash.lexisnexis.com or call 866-215-2771.
          ~ You will need the accident number and/or
           ~ Name and DOB of persons involved in the accident
     In person results, please contact Ashleigh Arellano at 505-827-3471 or email LERB.Accidents@state.nm.us

AMBER Alert

AMBER Alert is put out to the media when there is a child under 18 who has been abducted, is in imminent danger of serious bodily harm or death, and there is specific info available about the child or the child’s abductor.
Contact: Sgt. Chad Pierce at 505-841-9228
Email: chad.pierce@state.nm.us

Background Check

 


In-state – NM Background Check includes fingerprint supported arrest record information maintained by the Department of Public Safety.
Documents you will need:
Authorization for Release of Information Form , original signature and notarized (Spanish Version)
$15 fee
Documents must be mailed or hand delivered, we do not accept faxed documents.
Fingerprint Based – NM and FBI criminal history record based on fingerprint submissions.
Documents you will need:
Governmental agencies – please visit www.cogentid.com for instructions on electronic fingerprinting. Fingerprint results will not be returned to the applicant, only to the authorized agency requesting the results.
Manual submissions directly to the FBI – please visit the FBI website for instructions on requesting your criminal history.
Background Check Fee: $15
Letter of Good Standing or Police Certificate: $18
Notary Services: $5

Concealed Handgun Carry

 

 


Concealed Handgun Carry Permit application.
Complete application requirements:
Complete two-page application
Photocopy of NM Drivers License
$100.00 Application Fee (no cash)
Certified Original Birth Certificate
Training Certificate
Electronic Fingerprint Background Check
Health Information Release Form
Authorization for Release of Information
**Photocopies and/or Notarized copies will not suffice.

Expungements

Pursuant to New Mexico state statute NMSA 29-3-8.1, an individual may request that the misdemeanor or petty misdemeanor arrest record maintained by the Department of Public Safety (DPS) and/or the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) be expunged. Therefore, felony arrest records are not eligible to be expunged through this DPS process.

The DPS will expunge an arrest record that would statutorily fall into the category of a misdemeanor or petty misdemeanor offense only if a final disposition cannot be located and if the arrest does not involve a crime of moral turpitude (conduct contrary to justice, honesty, modesty or good morals).
Program Coordinator: Drew Johnson: 505-827-3317.

- Petition to Expunge Form

Fingerprinting

Fingerprint Services are offered Monday - Friday / 8 AM to 4PM* (*including the lunch hour)
Manual Fingerprint services at DPS: $9 / first two cards, and $2.50 for each additional card
Electronic Fingerprint services are available online at www.cogentid.com.

Missing Persons

Missing Persons Clearinghouse is a central repository on missing persons, providing information concerning abducted missing persons in the State of NM.
Contact: Lorelei Neri/ Program Coordinator at 505-827-9026 or
Email: DPS.MissingPerson@state.nm.us

Motor Vehicle Division

Driver’s License, Vehicle Registration, or Traffic Citations
New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division
1-800-683-4636 or (505) 827-4636
Website: http://www.mvd.newmexico.gov/Pages/Home.aspx

National Night Out

National Night Out is a community event used to heighten crime and drug prevention awareness as well as generate support for anticrime programs and strengthen police-community partnerships.

Sex Offender Registry

Sex Offender Registry Information provided to the public concerning the location of sex offenders residing in the state of NM. NM Sex Offender Registry
Contact: Teresa Hernandez/Program Manager at 505-827-3314

Silver Alert

Silver Alert is put out to the media when we have a missing person who is fifty years or older and whom there is a clear indication that the individual has irreversible deterioration of intellectual faculties. (i.e. Alzheimer’s, Dementia, etc)
Contact: Sgt. Chad Pierce at 505-841-9228
Email: chad.pierce@state.nm.us

Uniform Crime Reports

Uniform Crime Reporting is a statistic based position which compiles all crime stats for NM. The stats are then reported to the FBI on a month to month basis.
Contact: Allie Dean/Program Coordinator at 505-827-9053 or
Email: ucr.dps@state.nm.us