Law Enforcement Records Bureau
Office hours: Monday – Friday, 7:30 AM – 5 PM
Fingerprint hours: Monday – Friday, 8 AM to 4 PM
Address: 4491 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87507
Phone: (505) 827-9181
The New Mexico State Central Repository for Criminal History maintains arrest record information on persons arrested in New Mexico for felony, misdemeanor (offenses punishable by six months or more imprisonment) and DWI offenses.
|Fingerprint services (Excluding Applicant Background Checks)||$9 for first two cards; $2.50 for each additional card|
|FBI background check||Click HERE to learn how to register.|
|State background check||$15|
|Letter of Good Standing||$18|
When you provide a payment, you authorize the State of New Mexico to either use information from your check to make a one-time electronic fund transfer from your account or to process the payment as a check transaction.
|Incident reports||$1 for first page, $.25 for each additional page|
|To obtain arrest record information:|
|We accept cash, check, money orders and credit or debit cards.|
The victim or any member of the public shall be directed to the New Mexico Attorney General website at http://www.nmag.gov/office/student/identitytheft.aspx to access information on identify theft and prevention and to obtain a copy of an Identity Theft Prevention and Repair Kit. Further information on the prevention of identity theft can be located on the Federal Trade Commission website located at www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/microsites/idtheft/.
This information is based on fingerprint cards taken at the time of arrest, which serve as the source document for criminal history and are submitted to this State Repository by the arresting agency. The completeness and accuracy of this information is dependent on the contributing agencies.
Pursuant to 29-10-6(A) of the New Mexico Arrest Record Information Act, an individual may inspect, in person, through his counsel, or through his authorized agent, arrest record information concerning him/her.
To obtain arrest record information, a Department of Public Safety (DPS) Authorization for Release of Information form
(click here for Spanish Version) must be completely filled out (legibly) and submitted to this agency for processing. The form must be notarized and the fee is $15.00 per record check, which should be a money order or cashiers check made payable to the Department of Public Safety. The DPS must receive the authorization form with the “original” signature. With the required release and proper payment, all adult arrest records are released.
If a “Police Certificate of Good Standing” is needed (usually for immigration purposes), the cost of the certification with the background check is $33.00.
The turn around time is 7-15 working days from the date of receipt (depending on the current volumes and workload) and should only be requested by mail. Attached is the required release form, which may be duplicated.